Mod Podge Cabinet Handles

I have a new kitchen. No really, the whole thing has been gutted and rebuilt by my husband over the past couple of months. See proof here.  I really like the handles and pulls that stores like Anthropologie and World Market have. But I am just unwilling to spend sometimes as much as $7/handle for what they are selling. So I started looking up craft blogs to see if I could find some inspiration to make my own. I found some that were very cool, but more complex than I wanted. I wanted something somewhat uniform, but still had visual interest. Then I ran across an article where someone had Mod Podged a picture frame and decided it would be neat to try that with handles.

I used basic $1.99/2 wooden knobs for the cabinets. For the drawers, I really preferred to get pulls, so I bought the cheap gold colored metal ones, with a wooden middle. So after several (no really, a lot) of attempts to get rubbed oil spray paint to stay on shiny metal pulls. After a lot of sanding and several light coats of spray paint I got the paint to stay on. I just had to be careful not to nick it before I got the acrylic coat on at the end.

The tools. Use a sponge brush to apply the Mod Podge

After I had the spray paint on all the knobs, I went to work cutting out newspaper articles line by line and sometimes word by word. The smaller the pieces, the easier it is to get them to lie flat when you Mod Podge them. Then I sat in front of the TV and used Mod Podge to carefully cover the tops of the knobs. Covering the entire knob proved too difficult with too many curved surfaces. The paper kept wrinkling and looking really bad.

For the pulls, I wrapped small strips around the middles until the entire piece of wood was covered. After letting it all dry over night, I covered all the surfaces with 3 coats of acrylic. These knobs are going to be in the kitchen, so they will probably be exposed to water quite a bit. I didn’t want the paper to start coming up.

And here are the finished products:

Finished Products

I am really happy with how the pulls turned out

There were 9 pulls total

and 22 knobs total

still a little bit of paint peeking out on top, but that is okay.

Now let’s see how long it takes for said handles to become attached to the cabinets. If you want to make something like these for yourself, feel free to ask questions and I will be happy to explain anything that was unclear.

3 responses to “Mod Podge Cabinet Handles

  • Mom

    These are really cool. Great work!

  • Hollie

    Five years later how are these holding up? They are the best pulls/knobs! I really want to tackle a project like this but am nervous that they won’t hold up in my kitchen.

    • hostagehoosier

      The ones that get the heaviest use are discolored, but nothing is peeling off. It doesn’t really look that bad, kind of just looks like an old newspaper. The ones that only get moderate to little use look great still. I have been thinking of watering down some degreaser to see if it takes off some of the discoloration and then respraying them with acrylic. I think if I do this again, I will dip them in some sort of epoxy so they are easier to clean.

Leave a Reply

