The Best Potato Salad

This is the closest recipe I can find to the potato salads you buy in the deli at the grocery store (which I love and would buy all the time if I wasn’t a total cheap skate). It is completely horrible for you and absolutely delicious.

2 lbs potatoes
½ cup sweet or red onion
1/3 cup sweet relish
1 ¼ cups heavy mayonnaise (do not use miracle whip, I kick a puppy every time someone uses miracle whip)
2 teaspoons sugar
2 teaspoons apple cider vinegar (regular vinegar works too, it just gives it some tartness)
2 teaspoons yellow or Dijon mustard
1 ½ teaspoon salt
Hard boiled eggs

  • Wash potatoes, (peel if you want, I don’t) cut into cubes.
  • Boil for 15-20 minutes, until just soft.
  • In the meantime, combine the rest of the ingredients, except the eggs, and set aside.
  • Drain potatoes and let cool slightly.
  • Mix the mayonnaise mixture in with the potatoes. Add chopped boiled eggs.
  • Serve cold.
  • Makes about 8 servings

Original recipe is here. I changed it because I don’t like bacon contaminating my potato salad.

One response to “The Best Potato Salad

  • Cindy

    How did you know I was making potato salad today or tomorrow? I didn’t because I didn’t have celery. So now that I have your recipe, I will try it!

Leave a Reply

